CPR Schreiber roundhouse
Down-on view of the roundhouse and shop track. ca.1955-56
Much of the roundhouse was daylighted (doors removed) around 1951 leaving
only the last five stalls (16-20) enclosed.
In the transition from steam to diesel many changes took place especially
at roundhouses most of which were demolished. Diesels ran through most
terminals requiring much less labour intensive work compared to steam
A new diesel shop was built at Chapleau and all maintenance was done
there with only running repairs and servicing
carried out at other terminals mostly outdoors.
East doors of the roundhouse. A unique layout.
Earlier view looking east from the early 1940's with old coal chutes
Roundhouse, coal chutes etc. with lone MLW RS-10 on shop track. June
1956. Bill Miller
Not much left! March 1973