Facebook Page
Division Bylaws
Current Officers
Reference Material
The Fine Print
Site Map




Division Bylaws


TTOS Pacific Northwest Division Bylaws were adopted when the club originated, and are changed as conditions warrant. Currently, the bylaws consist of ten articles, each with subsections.

Article I: Name

Article II: Purpose

Article III: Organization

Article IV: Membership

Article V: Officers

Article VI: Duties of Officers

Article VII: Elections

Article VIII: Meetings

Article IX: Dues

Article X: Amendments



Article I: Name

    Section I: The name of this organization shall be: Pacific Northwest Division of the Toy Train Operating Society, hereinafter referred to as the Division.

        a) Let the record show that the Division was founded in 1970 by Ted Alhberg.

        b) Let the record further show that the first President of the Division was Jack R. Leonard.

Article II: Purpose

    Section I: The purpose of the Division shall be the same as the parent organization.

Article III: Organization

    Section I: The Division recognizes the TTOS National bylaws and will abide by and uphold those articles.

    Section II: The Division shall only function within the geographical boundaries of Oregon and Washington as assigned by the National TTOS Board of Directors.

Article IV: Membership

    Section I: The membership of this Division shall consist of any person who has an interest in the hobby of toy trains, is a member of the National TTOS organization, and paid their Division dues.

Article V: Officers

    Section I: The officers of the Division shall consist of President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer, North Area Director, and South Area Director. These five officers shall constitute the Board of Directors (BoD) of this Division.

    Section II: The immediate Past President may elect to assume one of the following position upon completion of that term of office.

        a) Act as an Ex-Officio, non-voting member if the Board of Directors, to be called upon for guidance and advice as to continuance and continuity.

        b) Assume the representative Directorship for his or her residence address for the next term of office. If the perspective Past President exercises this option, he or she shall notify the Nominating Committee of such intentions for modification of the ballot slate accordingly.

   Section III: Officer/Director Position Replacement

        a) Any officer or director may resign their position at any time by giving sixty (60) days written notice to the President and/or the Board of Directors.

        b) A vacancy n the office of the President shall be assumed by the Vice President, who shall serve out the remaining term of the office in that position.

        c) A vacancy in the office of Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer or Director shall be filled by the President, subject to BoD approval, for the remaining term of that office.

Article VI: Duties of Officers

    Section I: President

        a) The President shall preside over the meetings of the Division.

        b) The President shall appoint all and any committees deemed necessary for the benefit of the Division.

    Section II: Vice President

        a) The Vice President shall act in the absence of the President.

        b) The Vice President shall have the same powers and responsibilities as the President in the absence of the President.

    Section III: Secretary/Treasurer

        a) The Secretary/Treasurer shall take minutes of the Division meetings.

        b) The Secretary/Treasurer shall prepare and distribute notices and mailings deemed necessary to all members of the Division.

        c) The Secretary/Treasurer shall keep a reasonable and accurate account of all funds held by the Division.

        d) The Secretary/Treasurer shall keep the Division membership and the National TTOS organization informed of all policy decisions and financial status of the Division on a regular basis during the term of office, but not more than fifteen (15) days after a regular business meeting.

    Section IV: Geographical Directors

        a) A North and South Director shall represent the respective geographical areas of the Division.    

            1. The North Director shall represent the state of WA, excluding the counties of Clark, Cowlitz, Skamania, and Wahkiakum in the southwest Washington area.

            2. The South Director shall represent the state of OR, along with the counties of Clark, Cowlitz, Skamania, and Wahkiakum in the southwest Washington area.

        b) The respective Director shall preside at any business meetings in the absence of the President or Vice President.

Article VII: Elections

    Section I: The President shall select and appoint a Nominating/Election committee no later than the September meeting.

        a) The Nominating/Election committee shall develop a slate of nominees consisting of at least one (1) name for each position.

        b) The Nominating/Election committee shall select candidates that will represent the the compete geographical area of the Division.

        c) The Nominating/Election committee shall make its report, and accept nominations from the floor at the November meeting.

    Section II: Only members in good standing may cast a vote.

        a) Election of officers shall be by written secret ballot, mailed to all members in good standing, allowing for sufficient time for return prior to December meeting.

        b) Only a simple majority (greater than 50%) of members voting by mail or personal presentation of the ballot at the December meeting shall be necessary to carry the election of officers.

        c) The sealed, returned ballots shall be opened and counted at the December business meeting.

        d) Installation of the newly elected officers of this Division shall take place at the December business meeting.

Article VIII: Meetings

    Section I: The Division shall have a minimum of four (4) business meetings per year, two (2) in the North area and two (2) in the South area of the Division.

        a) The business meetings shall be held during the months of March, June, September, and December.

        b) The Board of Directors of the Division may call for more than four (4) business meetings per year, with a maximum limit of one (1) per month.

        c) There must be a minimum of three (3) of the five (5) officers present to hold a meeting.

        d) Written notice of the business meeting must be mailed to all Division members ten (10) days prior to a business meeting.

        e) Only a simple majority (greater than 50%) of the members present at the business meeting shall be necessary to carry any action requiring a vote. The exception being action to elect officers and/or actions with regard to amendments, deletions or changes to the bylaws.

Article IX: Dues

    Section I: Division annual dues shall be set by the membership, and changed as needed to maintain operation of the Division.

        a) Dues shall be collected by the Secretary/Treasurer.

        b) Dues shall be due on the date of January 15th of each year.

    Section II: Late fee charges may be assessed by a vote of the membership at a regularly scheduled business meeting.

Article X: Amendments

    Section I: Proposals to amend, delete, or add to the bylaws of the Division must be made at a regularly scheduled business meeting.    

        a) Approval of two thirds (2/3) of the members in attendance is required to present proposed changes by mail ballot to all members of the Division.

            b) A sixty percent (60%) majority of the returned mail ballots is required to enact the proposed change(s) to the bylaws of the Division.


Approved by vote of membership June 2, 1985.

Amended by vote of membership June 7, 1992.

Signed by Gary Trapp, President.