What's New ~ Articles ~ Stories ~ Archives ~ Photographs ~ Preservation ~ Library ~ Home
Canada's shortest standard gauge railway was incorporated
in Ontario April 5, 1927 to operate 3.3 miles from the National Transcontinental
Railway mainline in Northern Ontario to Smooth Rock Falls to serve a large
mill of the Abitibi Fibre Company. It provided freight and passenger service
for many years as one of Canada's few independant railways. Here is a
brief look at this little railway starting with an old article in
Unique view taken from outside cab of diesel as train
approaches Smooth Rock CNR station, 1955.
Nice looking little Mogul engine.
100 (acq.c.1927 ex GWWD 9) 2-6-0 MLW 55116 4/1915 . J.Norman Lowe
Combine 5 was acquired 3/25 ex TH&B 35 built as coach 102 at CPR Angus Shops 11/1905
102 (acq. 7/1941 ex T&NO 215) 4-6-0 MLW 44165 1907 J.Norman Lowe
Mixed train hauled by 103 a 50-tonner 300 HP diesel acquired
new from GE 30790 3/1951
Ancient wooden snow plow and spare coach. J.Norman Lowe
104 S4 (acq. 3/1969 r/b MLW) MLW 76480 9/1949
168 acq.1998 (ex ACR 168) GMD GP7 A275 2/1952 Mike
Abitibi Paper Co.Ltd. sold out to Tembec,
Inc. and operations were turned over to the ONR in 1998.
The railway was abandoned following closure of the mill in 2006.
MRR 100 sits next to the abandoned right-of-way between
the post office and the
New ~ Articles