The Central Line originally opened on the 27th June 1900, work on its construction having commenced in 1896, as the Central London Railway. It originally ran between Shepherds Bush and Cornhill (later becoming Bank).
Various extensions were built over the years, though it was not until the late 1940's that the line finally reached its current termini, both to the East and West of London.
It's original depot was at Wood Lane (later to become White City) but with the extensions additional depots were constructed at West Ruislip and Hainault.
The following collection of photographs have been supplied by Chris Cobley and Phil Wimbush and give an impression of the line and rolling stock as in use today.
Although not unique on London Underground, the Central Line's trains are operated automatically by means of codes being transmitted by the signalling equipment to the trains; the Train Operator normally allows the train to operate in ATO (Automatic Train Operation) mode, though there are certain times and places when the trains are driven manually.
The Automatic Train Protection system (ATP) is also different from 'conventional' London Underground lines, in that the trains and track are not equipped with the trainstop and tripcock system - this too has been replaced by an electronic system controlled by the signalling equipment. The entire line is controlled and signalled from one central location at Wood Lane; photos of this centre can be seen here.